…That ‘English’ Dream


My love for the language English is known to all and that is the reason why I always wanted to pursue my masters from the United Kingdom. Yes, from a country where the language started, from the land where Geoffrey Chaucer wrote Wife of Bath Prologue and Tales and at a place probably near Canterbury – place where Canterbury tales is based and yes somewhere near a place where Shakespeare lived Stratford-upon-Avon.

 My desire to study in Great Britain is not just to study in a different land, among people of different nationality but to study in a country where I can feel a sense of knowingness and YES a sense of attachment. A place where I could belong to already, without ever been there physically and that is the reason I choose to study in the United Kingdom. 

   What makes me inclined towards the UK is my graduation in English literature. My graduation certainly brought me much closer to the UK not as a country or  not just as a place to visit in summers but as the land of English language, as the land of many great authors and writers, as the land of ‘something’ new to learn every day and yes of course as the land of much joy and great food. On top of everything it is that sense of nostalgia that I am sure I will feel if I am in the UK probably in some countryside and feeling the same as what Virginia Woolf might have felt standing there like she did in Mrs. Dalloway and sometimes when I would visit the places in Canterbury and parts of the UK.

  My choice of study without a doubt would be MA International Journalism from University of Bedfordshire, Luton campus. Yes, I have many other options too but I still think that studying at a center which is little far from bigger cities like London or Cardiff would be a great idea. I am sure this would be the state which would give me a wider opportunity to live in the United Kingdom and be accessible to everything else easily and without much travel.

So now the question I asked myself when I decided to choose MA International Journalism was why this course and why not something more conventional like an MBA?  

The answer to this question is in the question itself. Why be so mainstream? Why study something which is already termed as conventional. Yes I know, to many people even International Journalism would sound conventional but for me it is most balanced subject of study when it comes to deciding your liking, your interest  and making a sound career choice.

  MAIJ will for sure give me my “need” of education but helps me more to fulfill the “greed” of knowledge I seem to have in me. With MAIJ I am eyeing a great career which is filled with challenge and yes a source of coming across something astonishing every now and then.  

MAIJ will for sure give me a prospective of how a journalist work but on top of it will teach me who actually is a cosmopolitan journalist. Somebody who knows well how to work in a world which probably is divided by borders but is at the end a part of cosmopolitan universe.  We all as individuals know that how anything that matters to one country or citizens of one country can be something of great interest to people living in another corner of world and this I believe is where an international journalist who also happen to be a blogger comes into the picture.  Learning the techniques and insights of an international journalist is what I believe this course will help me gain.

Why Bedfordshire?  
Universities in the UK are in good number, some are decent, some are pricey, some are exceptional and some are just another Uni. like places but deciding among all is surely a tough task for me. Out of all the great choices, the two major Universities I could think of were Bedfordshire and University of London. Henceforth after much thought I would go ahead to finalize Bedfordshire. This obviously is based on the fact that I want to study little away from London and at the same time I want to study at the University Campus itself which makes Bedfordshire my ultimate choice to study in the UK. On the other hand I am keen to see how Bedfordshire can help me elevate my social skills, as I would be interacting with people from different cultures and groups which would also help me be a team player.

Infrastructure also happens to be another most important reason for me to choose both Bedfordshire and the UK. The technological advancement in the UK is little better than any other country especially when it comes to the university of my choice. I am personally very excited to see how working with HD cameras, integrated newsroom and vision mixing equipment can feel like.

 Why United Kingdom unlike another country?  

  Apart from what I mentioned earlier, one of the most important thing that makes me choose The UK as my academic destination and not any other country is, the benefit of living in 28 member states all at the same time and not just Luton as a campus. Studying in the UK gives me an opportunity to roam freely across the member states. This gives me advantage of actually meeting people from different lands without much hassle of visas and other formalities.  This also gives an ample amount of adventure to explore different states, people and most importantly get to know how a common journalist works in these states. This obviously would help broaden my learning curve.  

  Another reason which is most important for me to study in the UK is, the sense of independence I will be able to enjoy and live with, along with still staying connected to my cultural and traditional roots. That is one rare combination which I cannot attain by choosing any other country apart from the UK. It will be a kind of a unique Kaleidoscope of Medieval India. A phase I will cherish all my life.  

So Bedfordshire University in the UK, is my way of conquering widespread horizons of International journalism and an amazing way of expressing Sky is the limit, and yet keeping all strings attached with my roots.

   This entry is part of IndiBlogger contest For more please read : http://knowledgeisgreat.in/

2 thoughts on “…That ‘English’ Dream

  1. Try UCL .. U might got good options there…. Rest is all luck …
    Best of luck go for it .. Stay focused stay calm 😛

Say your word.

