…and I Visited a Dentist


Finally, I’ve decided to write about the only thing I am most scared to talk about – dental issues. Yes, I am 23 year old child who is so scared of hearing dental issues that if I hear people around me talking about their dental problems I would either walk away or ask them to stop. The sole reason is because it makes me think of many dental problems I have and the utmost need I have to visit an orthodontist. Going to an orthodontist is BIG no-no for me. I cannot go to see them. These blood sucking people daunt me in my dreams. Mere thinking of them gives me cold feet.

In my childhood, I was among those kids who used to hate brushing their teeth for a simple reason because the toothpaste used to taste weird. I was beaten up, scolded, threatened and even a spoon of red-chilly powder was put into my mouth by my parents. This was the intensity of cruelty I had to face. Almost a decade down the line I realize how much my parents cared for me and why they were so strict with me when it came to brushing my teeth. Today, I write this piece after visiting a dentist for more than 20 times, with 3 major extractions done, 4 cavity removal sessions and ‘recently realized problem’ of gum bleeding.

What all I have been through in terms of my dental problem is itself a moral for me and younger children I have in my family. I often tell my younger cousin who is 7 yrs old that what happens when you do not brush your teeth properly and regularly. For some reasons he chooses to listen to me because he has seen me crying madly over pain in my teeth many times.

Another reason why I am now more worried about my dental problem is because I now see my mother in terrible pain because of dental problems she ignored when she was of my age. She has lost most of her teeth; those lefts are in bad condition. Seeing me into her situation 20 yrs down the line is what makes me shit the bed.

All the dental issues I had ever since my childhood is taking toll on me even today. Just an example I cannot have a bubble gum or éclairs in fact. Why? Because they are sticky and may harm the filling I had to get rid of those cavities.

Check out My Healthy Speak Blog

One thought on “…and I Visited a Dentist

Say your word.

