Tech Review: Micromax Canvas 2


From Web

Micromax Canvas 2 A110 Specifications

The display size: 5 inches
Display type: LCD capacitive touchscreen.
Display resolution: 480 x 854 pixels
Processor : 1 GHz dual core processor
Supports: Dual-SIM
Dimensions: 147 x 76.5 x 9.7 mm
Internal memory: 4 GB
Expandable memory: 32 GB
Primary camera :8 megapixel with auto focus and dual LED flash
Android Ice Cream Sandwich operating system
Dual core 1 GHz MediaTek MT6577
Battery: Li-ion 2000 mAh
This is a hands-on review of Micromax Canvas 2. After been flattered from Galaxy Note and Note 2 I so badly wanted to have a phablet-like phone. But, been somebody who is not in favor of spending big among on just a phone I always resisted myself to buy one of those Samsung phones.

The other day, I saw my friend having this while-color, beautiful looking phablet phone in his hand and I was keen to ask him which one it was. He said Micromax and I was like what? This is Micromax? And he said yes Canvas 2. I played around with his phone and decided that I wanted one. So next three-days I went to look for this phone but found it nowhere. I was told that it is not available. And if available it was only in color black, which I did not wanted. After long search I was finally able to take my hands on a white Canvas 2. It’s been more than 20 days I’ve been using it, so here goes a detailed review of this phone.

As I mentioned the phone looks beautiful. One has to take a deep-look into this phone to judge that it is a Micromax device and not a Samsung device. Micromax has intelligently craved their name in the bottom of battery cover. The speakers are well based in bottom of the phone which surely is a good idea. The way camera is placed is something that may look disappointing to a lot of you, just the way it did to me. It is placed in top-middle of phone with dual LED flash. And tend to give phone an unfinished look.

Talking of Camera, it is a 8 MP camera and does a good job in terms of stable pictures. The movement objects move here and there the picture would turn out to be VERY blurry The front camera does the job far more perfectly. Stable pictures, yet clear. Another things that look to be a drawback in this phone is colors. The camera would see color red as pink and blue as green. Camera takes decent images in daylight. The dual-led flash fulfills its intended purpose. The quality of videos captured through the back camera was average. It lacks with a dedicated camera key as well.
The memory is enough for almost any application to run. The major issue I had with my previous phone was limited phone memory and it used to give me an annoying message every few hours “Not enough phone memory”. Temple run and Temple Run 2 works amazingly on this phone without any blurry images or lagging in between. The touch screen is smooth.

The basic feature of having a phone is to make calls and this phone makes this thing itself a difficulty. Yes, you read it write, the phone lacks the basic functionality of making calls. Both the microphone and headset are over low quality. Especially, the headset. It becomes difficult for one to hear the other person speaking. One has to press this phone hard on ears to listen carefully. The speakers are good. They are worth the price and so is the headphone that comes in the box.

The battery is good, it gave me almost 26 hrs of standby and 8-10 hrs of full usage. (Internet,calls, games). Whereas the sad part is the full charge of battery would take more than six hrs.

Over and all, I give this phone a pass. All I wanted was a big-screen phone, which now I have with almost no other good features. Especially when I had a great phone as Samsung Galaxy Ace earlier. I suggest not to buy this phone, moreover Canvas HD version is out too, so one can surely try that.

[If you are using Canvas 2 or Canvas HD, please do share your take in the comment box :)]

Disclaimer: One should make a sound decision himself before choosing to buy this phone. The reviewer- Aditya Bhasin shall not take responsibility in case the product does not meet the end-user’s expectations.

Aditya Bhasin hails from India, Delhi-an avid reader, who enjoys his cup of tea over it, a racist in purest form as he hates chocolate and coffee. He does not like traveling much, but, if he gets an opportunity to travel he chooses to do that by a train instead of a car or a plane. He is an ambivert person and is happy that way.

Fb.com + About.me + Twitter.com + StumbleUpon.com + LinkedIn.com+ FourSquare.com + Pinterest.com + Digg.com + Reddit.com = /meadityabhasin

Email: adityabhasin81 (at) (gmail) (.com)

If you are a technology company or a PR firm who may like me to review their products please send an email across to adityabhasin81 [@] [gmail] [.com]

Say your word.

