Book Review: Like A Virgin by Richard Branson


https://i1.wp.com/media.npr.org/assets/bakertaylor/covers/l/like-a-virgin/9781591845683_custom-8fb6984248ece130f8d64232c35882927237b514-s15.jpg

Looking for advice on setting up your own company, improving your career prospects, or developing your leadership skills? Why not ask Richard Branson? 

There are some books that does not need a review, they are already a master piece. One such book is ‘Like A Virgin’.The author of this book is none than owner of Virgin Group, who has more than 400 companies under the banner.
In this book he has shared his ideas of making a venture successful and all tips that a
budding entrepreneur or an already successful entrepreneur will ever need. The beauty of reading a book that gives you practicable tips and advice to be successful by none other than a successful personality himself naturally leads to higher expectations.
Branson, unlike his not so simple life had written this book in most simple manner possible, with no use of difficult business terminology. The book is no where a step-by-step guide to a successful venture, but simply shares Branson’s ideas of how to do things differently and be successful into it. The book takes you on a journey that Branson started when he was as young as 16 yrs old and yes, how he failed badly in two of his first business ventures. The book is not an autobiography, nor a 332 pages of ‘self-talks’ The book has some great short chapters which is a delight to read and learn from. Sir Branson’s ideas on marketing, PR and internal communication is refreshing and thought provoking. One thing I like most is when he talks about taking over phone instead of sending email. It saves time, he adds.

As now I have completed this book,below mentioned are my favorite chapters and lessons from book:

1) Don’t like the second opinion ? Get a third;
2)What is success? Some positive thoughts;
3)Watching your waistline. Will help the bottom line.

1) Work/ Life Balance: The quote ‘no one on their death bed has ever said I wish I had of spent more time in the office’ says it all.

2)Make mistakes: Making people make mistakes sounds to be a great idea. And to learn and review from it is another great idea. (my addition to it: Learn from failures)

Final Words: If you are young like me or a CEO of your own company, this book is what you should read.

Here are some of my favorite sections from the book :-

1) “If you were given $60 to start a business, how would you do it?”

A: “If I were well known, I’d sign the dollar and sell each of them for $20.I would then sign $20 and sell them for $50 and so on. As they say, nothing makes money like money ! ” Pg. 5 (loved this one) (Nothing makes money like money !)

2) “This mysterious anonymous entity ‘they’ is held responsible for limitless problems. Bad news tends to be delivered in the third-person plural, whereas good news is much more likely to be relayed in the first-person singular. I wish my old English teacher could read this, as he was convinced I never listened to a word in the those lessons!” Pg. 52

Also, most of the sections in this book is about questions by people across the globe and been answered by Branson. I am also enclosing two questions, and hope they shall be answered by him.

Ques 1: I am 22,somehow a graduate, into a job which my parents hate and so do I. Love reading books, making opinion,writing, expressing views and good with communication skills. I sometime think to start a venture, with many ideas in my kitty I fail to zero-down on one of them and also scared of taking that steps towards entrepreneurship. Please suggest. Please.

Ques 2: The biggest dilemma of Indian youth today is about working at a call-centre.I have not met anybody who told me that “I wanted (want )to make a career in BPO industry. They say they feel stuck and sometime claustrophobic. BPO’s hire anybody with good English skills, so most of the people endup only been high school pass outs or graduate. We know BPO’s are not here for long, espically when countries like Philippians and China is after our bread-and-butter. Any suggestion for this section of Indian youth? ‘

Aditya Bhasin hails from India, Delhi-an avid reader, who enjoys his cup of tea over it, a racist in purest form as he hates chocolate and coffee. He does not like traveling much, but, if he gets an opportunity to travel he chooses to do that by a train instead of a car or a plane. He is an ambivert person and is happy that way.

Fb.com + About.me + Twitter.com + StumbleUpon.com + LinkedIn.com+ FourSquare.com + Pinterest.com + Digg.com + Reddit.com = /meadityabhasin

Email: adityabhasin81 (at) (gmail) (.com)

This book was sent to me by publisher for an unbiased review. If you are a publisher or author and would want me to review your books, please drop an email at : adityabhasin [81] @ gmail [.com]

Say your word.

