Agony of Connaught Place


I am proud of Delhi. I am proud about Connaught Place. But, over last few years my pride has shattered into pieces. The last time I was in CP- he talked to me.Yes, Connaught Place talked to me about this agony and how he has been constantly damaged by our own government.
“Aditya, I know you well and thousands like you who visit me for some or other purpose on daily basis. I know you are here almost every Tuesday and sometimes on Sundays as well. And just like you I see thousands of people who come down to me for their offices or recreational purposes. And believe me I enjoy that like last thing on earth. I feel proud when they go back and talk about me. I feel proud when they enjoy a good laugh over a cup of coffee sitting at CCD here or even while they take a brisk walk at inner circle. But things have changed drastically in last few years. The moment Government decided to renovate my structure while Commonwealth Games 2010- I was happy; very happy. It was first major renovation that I was going through in ages and I also thought it was the last one too. When everything got over I looked beautiful. More than I looked ever before. I can’t even recall how many people came to me and talked so much good about me and which included a lot of foreign tourists too. They were praising my beauty and my structure. They also liked the new Central Park in my heart; they found the newly made walking path good and also liked the other changes made to my structure. Games got over, but, not the renovation. They started working on me again. Everything they made and renovated on my structure was again demolished.”

Image found through Google

Image found through Google

“Today, when I speak to you about my agony, I am standing in midst of the most pathetic condition I could ever be in. I have been damaged from both inside and outside. There is no place left where I am good at the moment.The shopkeepers are now moving out of me, they say there is no business left here. The foot-fall has gone down to a great extent. The foreigners now say that this is typical India; and what not. You won’t believe that the inner-circle near Baba Kharak Singh Marg has now turned into a garbage dump-yard. Can you imagine that? Garbage dump-yard that too in Connaught place? Almost every day there would be one or another JCB machine digging some or other part of me. It not only hurts me physically, but, mentally too. I am sure you have been to PVR Plaza at least once. Do you know what are they making in front of PVR plaza? Well, actually they don’t even know themselves. It is a big rock of concrete with a deep well-kind-of thing. Anybody, at night time may even fall into it. You would find no display of any warning in or around this thing.”
“I remember when Delhi Metro was under-construction around me. I was much relived then. They took utmost care of me and my structure. Every time they found that there was a crack building up, they stopped the work. What is happening at the moment with me is that cracks have now turned into week foundations and pillars. Time is not far when they even may have to demolish me completely and make a new structure altogether.”

“I am thankful that monsoon is almost nowhere this time; otherwise things would have been worse. I am sure if it rains anytime soon then there would be no difference leftbetween what happens every year near Yamuna river surroundings and what may happen to me this year. Almost 60 % of my structure has already turned into a pit-hole or has been left unattended. The on-going construction is not only damaging my beauty, but, my inner strength too. I hope and pray somebody will understand my agony and will do something concretive.”

Image found through Google

About Aditya Bhasin

Aditya Bhasin hails fromIndia,Delhi-an avid reader, who enjoys his cup of tea over it, a racist in purest form as he hates chocolate and coffee. He does not like traveling much, but, if he gets an opportunity to travel he chooses to do that by a train instead of a car or a plane. He is an introvert person who is trying to be an extrovert by all possible means.

Fb.com + About.me + Twitter.com + StumbleUpon.com + LinkedIn.com+ FourSquare.com + Pinterest.com + Digg.com + Reddit.com = /meadityabhasin

Email: adityabhasin81 (at) (gmail) (.com)

6 thoughts on “Agony of Connaught Place

  1. I have never noticed CP because of the few visits, however now I can clearly see a big picture of CP before and after the demolition. good narration of the place and its situation.

Say your word.

