Public Display of Affection #PDA


Blog One Twenty Two

I originally wrote this post in September 2010 and today I am back because one of my readers asked me if my perceptions and ideas changed since then. My answer to her was NO. Today, I am going to talk about my views over the same subject. When I originally wrote this a lot of people questioned my maturity. They said that I was too young to understand such stuff (I was TWENTY then).

Back then, when I wrote this post I was out with my girlfriend and found a lot of couples indulging in BABY-THIS-IS-OUR-BEDROOM-LETS-MAKE-LOVE situation. They were actually into each other’s arms and legs and all you can imagine. The worst thing I found a couple doing was that the girl was sitting into boys lap. YES, that is something that actually happened; that too in a mall, at a food-court. I could not (can’t) even think of same in my vivid imagination; hats off to these guys. (How could they?)

My problem does not lie with those who would hold each others hands or sometime even take their hands around their partner’s waist or something to more decent level. Things turn dirty beyond this point. We do live in a progressive society, but, does that means that we have no self-respect for ourselves? If I will go ahead and talk about our culture and stuff, a lot of people rather say a lot of ‘pseudo-progressive-minds’ will make my life difficult so I am not going to talk about that stuff.

How indecent it is to show your affection all in public. I understand young couples (like me) do not have enough private space to enough some good time or what we also call private movements. But, that does not mean that we would bring out those private movements- all in public. It is just like those MMS’s which are leaked on internet almost everyday.

There is nothing bad to be in love or to be expressive in a relationship, but, it is worthy enough to do that on cost of been humiliated in front of everyone? We all would remember the incidents when police forces slapped and beaten up the couples in parks across Uttar Pradesh when they were found in a compromising situation. I supported that. I support that even today. I may not support it to a full-extent, but, yes I do. I don’t see much thing which the police people did wrong. Yes, I agree they went ahead beyond law and beaten up the couples all in public, but, to the extent of things these couples were doing, I think police was reasonable fair in their doing.

Some people may say that we live in a democratic country and we have right to do what we want, so for those all I have to say is that if next time an MMS is leaked, and by mistake you’re or may be a friend of your is part of that MMS- don’t crib. After all we live in a democratic country we have a right to do what we want.

About Aditya Bhasin

Aditya Bhasin hails fromIndia,Delhi-an avid reader, who enjoys his cup of tea over it, a racist in purest form as he hates chocolate and coffee. He does not like traveling much, but, if he gets an opportunity to travel he chooses to do that by a train instead of a car or a plane. He is an introvert person who is trying to be an extrovert by all possible means.

Fb.com + About.me + Twitter.com + StumbleUpon.com + LinkedIn.com+ FourSquare.com + Pinterest.com + Digg.com + Reddit.com = /meadityabhasin

Email: adityabhasin81 (at) (gmail) (.com)

3 thoughts on “Public Display of Affection #PDA

  1. if you ever go to talkatora garden you’ll see plenty of couples including middle-aged ones making out in the corners or in the shrubs. and theres a woman there actually charges an hourly rent for that. 😀

Say your word.

