My experience of rejecting all candidates [MCD ELECTIONS 2012]


Yesterday only, I published a post stating that I will be using form 17A- Rule 49-O while MCD Elections here in Delhi. Soul reason behind same was incapability of candidates.

In this post I am writing about my experience of using my right; right to reject. Also to mention, not only me but four other members of my family used the same right and rejected all the candidates.

After the verification of my identity, I was asked to sign in register 11 A and that’s what I was exactly looking for; here goes the discussion I had with my booth officer regarding right to reject.

(All conversation in Hindi)

Me: “Ma’am can you give me form 17A”

BO1: “Form 17 A? What is that? (Shocked looks)”

Me:  “The form where I can sign and reject all candidates”

BO1: “We don’t know anything like Form 17 A. How can we give you?”

Me: “That’s something you should know. I am not booth officer; you’re”

BO2: “That rule has not started yet. It will be implemented next year”

Me: “Ma’am that rule is existent since 1997. You should have form 17A or register 11 A”

BO1: “What are you studying?”

Me: “I am perusing my Graduation from DU”

BO1: “Why do you want to reject all?”

Me: “Because, no one from this ward is capable of my vote”

BO1: “then you should not even vote, I also don’t vote”

Me: “Why should I not vote? Government is spending cr. to make people vote.”

BO1: “Anyways you don’t like anyone, so don’t vote”

Me: “I will vote, but, to reject all”

BO3: “What is it all you’re talking about?”

Me: “Sir, as per rule 49-0, I have right to reject all the candidates and that what I am here to do”

BO3: “We’re not aware of any such thing.”

Me: “Sir, all I need is register 11A, so, that I can write my comments and also not vote on EVM”

BO3: To BO1 “Find what is a register 11A and let me him sign”

BO1: While she is looking for register “Why do you want to reject. It will not make a difference. You should get at least 5-10 people along with you.”

Me: “Don’t worry ma’am my other family members are on their way”

and as she was looking for register 11A in all her documents, I opened the first page of register, that was lying in front of her and showed her that this is the register what we call register 11A.

She give me a weird look and asked “how do I knew it”

I told her that I read newspaper and the reason why I did not tell you before was because I wanted to see if you knew what register 11A was; which for obvious reasons you did not know.

She was pissed off like anything. I then signed and made a comment “I choose to reject all” and moved out.

Later my other family members went to cast a null vote. As they came back and I asked them what happened all they said was “These people were looking at us strangely but we did reject all”

I am now happy that at least 5 people were able to reject all candidates. May be this will send a positive ray of hope among others and may be more people will use their right next time.

I want to make a humble request to EC to make their booth officer, enough, educated about rules and rights of voters.

P.S. While I was writing this post, I heard that only 32 % voting was done till 3PM; really pathetic, shame on youDelhi.

 

 

 

About Aditya Bhasin

 

Aditya Bhasin hails fromIndia,Delhi-an avid reader, who enjoys his cup of tea over it, a racist in purest form as he hates chocolate and coffee. He does not like traveling much, but, if he gets an opportunity to travel he chooses to do that by a train instead of a car or a plane. He is an introvert person who is trying to be an extrovert by all possible means.

 

Fb.com + About.me + Twitter.com + StumbleUpon.com + LinkedIn.com+ FourSquare.com + Pinterest.com + Digg.com + Reddit.com = /meadityabhasin

 

Email: adityabhasin81 (at) (gmail) (.com)

 

 

 

21 thoughts on “My experience of rejecting all candidates [MCD ELECTIONS 2012]

  1. Hey Aditya,
    Debo redirected me to this post..
    interesting!!
    I never knew there was an option to reject the candidates..so I simply don’t vote 🙂
    Keep writing 🙂
    will read more of your posts soon..

    • Hey Bhavia, Thanks for reading and thanks to debo too.

      Well, good that my post will add atleast one more vote in nxt election.

      I am looking fwd to hear more from you when I write next.

    • Yaa, It was funny to look at those dumb faces. And no.doubt their was a substancial increase in voting %age. Though, I was too optimistic and thought that it would be atleast 65% but….

  2. Aw. I never read such a thing on Blogs. 😛 Thank you. It was educating and inspiring. Because I don’t vote and I am rethinking about my Excuses of -Why not to vote. I think I will Vote this time. 🙂
    And yeah. All the best for the novel and an exciting career 🙂

    • Hey Somyaa, many thanks for dropping here and making this comment. Good to know that you’ll voting next time, no matter, even if you reject all.

      Thank you for your wishes too.

  3. This is d first time am reading ur blog

    u rock man

    and in future if u r facing any problem regarding dis isue then u may seek media help…cal any news chanel in dis regard and m sure dy wil teach them what 17A and 11A are..

  4. Good going Aditya….. Twice I have used form 17A for rejecting a candidate in past. My yesterday experience was very bad in this regard. No booth officer was aware about form 17A and 11A register. When they came to know that I want to reject all the candidates they did not allow me the register my rejection in 11A register, they said, if you are not casting your vote, then you cannot write anything in the register. I met with Sector Officer (from EC at Polling station), he was also not aware about the same and he did not help me to register my rejection. Then I called Assistant Returning Officer (Mr Joshi), he was also not aware about this provision and he did not help me and cut my phone in between. Then I called Returning Officer (ADM, MR. VP Singh), he was also not aware about the same, and did not help me. Then I called Election Commision customer care and resigtered my complaint about the same. Now I am waiting for a realistic action from EC in this matter.

    • Firstly, thumbs up for making sure that you use your right. Secondly, it was bad to hear that you could not use the same right this this time.

      And I wonder how come you really went ahead and spoke to so many people. I think would’nt have done so much.

      About complaint you made, I would say don’t be high on hopes. I don’t assume any solution to same. But still appreiciate your efforts.

  5. It was disappointing to know after reading this post that the booth officers were not aware of such a provision and on top of that they were trying to stall you by saying things like ‘this rule will be implemented from the next year.’ I do agree that the government and the EC should make it point to make people aware of such a provision through mainstream media and should do it more effectively because this is also a ‘right’ for the people. You didn’t vote today and you had your own reasons and I did because I had mine, but nevertheless we both hope for a positive change, and this is definitely one of them. Thanks for sharing.

Say your word.

