JNU & North Campus


I

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I study at North Campus of University of Delhi. I wish I could study at JNU campus. I’ve been to JNU campus twice. I go to North Campus everyday. I’ve lived life at North Campus. I have seen life at JNU campus. And in my experience, JNU, Rocks.

 

I am writing about few reasons why I think JNU rocks.

FoodParadise

Let me start with my favorite thing- FOOD.

JNU campus is known for its food joints. I’ve been to some of them, had my share of good food there and I loved it. The first time, I went to JNU campus was in Feb 2011 and yesterday was the second time I went to JNU. Yesterday, I had a soul reason to visit JNU- have some good food. Nothing Else

About the food joints in North Campus; there are many, but, none matches the standards of JNU food joints. Here, there are only three-things you get to eat: ‘Kulche-Cholle’, Maggi and ‘Dosa’. Every department has their own canteen but the food at these canteens is limited to these three food items and a ‘veg-thali’.

Out of all the department canteens, I find Delhi School of Economics canteen- the most awesome. I and my friends often visit DSE- what is also knows as ‘D’ school.

Ideology

People at North Campus are usually liberal in their views. They do not have a last word on anything. If you ask them whether reservation should be allowed, they will say YES and NO. Yes, because some people may need it, No, because some people get affected. (I belong to this category.)

Whereas, things are opposite at JNU campus, they have a last words on everything and anything. They present their views very strongly and further stand by them. No matter what may happen.

Fashion-ka-jalwa

North Campus is ruled by fashionable clothes and everything else which is fashionable. At DU you are treated ‘out-of-campus’ if you wear flip-flops or in fact those ‘Rubber-ki-chappals’.

Things are again opposite at JNU, they do not have this kind of fashion prevailing there. I have seen people are JNU, they wear just anything. It does not matter to them whether their jeans is fromLevisor a street-shop.

Born-British

If you do not speak English at North Campus, then you must be pursuing some, BA pass course or some History Hons. Well, this is the first thought in anybody’s mind at North Campus, when you speak to them in Hindi.

At JNU, Hindi is the language. Even if you ask an MA English student, something in English, it is highly likely that he or she will answer you in Hindi.

The Stephanian caste

There is a huge college (read cast) divide at North Campus. The cold-war between Hindu and St. Stephan is well known to all of us. Anybody who is from St. Stephan gets a certificate to flaunt their (rude) attitude, no matter what is the demand of situation.

One of my friends once told me that you are not supposed to call a canteen- a canteen at St. Stephan. It’s a cafeteria!

I know the above example is not a great one or some people may call it as a good use of vocabulary; I agree, but it becomes irritating in this situation:

A new student at St. Stephan in a conversation with a 2nd year student

New student: where is the canteen?

2nd year student: No, do not call it a canteen. It’s a cafeteria.

New student: (within his mind) WTF.

At JNU, there is no such thing. They only have departments, no specific colleges, though they do have hostels and I’ve heard that there is some kind of rivalry between different hostels.

The Campus; as it is
JNU campus is the most awesome campus once can come across. Spread in miles-and-miles, with greenery all around. The person who studies there will always say “I am living the dream.’

 

North Campus is also good but continual traffic movement within campus spoils the mood.

So, this was my description of two most talked about campuses inDelhi. Feel free to drop-in your comments/views/perceptions.

Disclaimer: These are my personal views. No offence meant to anyone from JNU orUniversityofDelhior anywhere else.

 

 

 

 

About Aditya Bhasin

 

Aditya Bhasin hails fromIndia,Delhi-an avid reader, who enjoys his cup of tea over it, a racist in purest form as he hates chocolate and coffee. He does not like traveling much, but, if he gets an opportunity to travel he chooses to do that by a train instead of a car or a plane. He is an introvert person who is trying to be an extrovert by all possible means.

 

Fb.com + About.me + Twitter.com + StumbleUpon.com + LinkedIn.com+ FourSquare.com + Pinterest.com + Digg.com + Reddit.com = /meadityabhasin

 

Email: adityabhasin81 (at) (gmail) (.com)

 

 

 

 

 

 

Say your word.

